Paperpile: The Second Citation Manager

Tansy Bradshaw
3 min readSep 26, 2022

I have been having an issue with citation managers. I still use Endnote, but that was for my longer projects. However, I wanted to keep my other references for all my other writing and second-brain resources. I needed a second citation manager.

Paperpile logo

Why not just a second Endnote library?

Endnote is great but for smaller or ongoing projects I needed to:

  • Be able to leave the default output style alone and not have to add a lot of custom metadata
  • Syncing is less complicated
  • Automatic lookup and import or quick capture system
  • Work with Google Docs
  • Store PDFs in Google Drive automatically

I had tried Zotero and although it did a lot, there were still a few things I had to do manually which impeded my workflow. One of these was that Zotero only allows you to add new references by manual entry. Though you can only look up journal articles through the app at the moment — if it is another form, I need to do it on my laptop but that is still way better than Zotero, as far as the app. If it is something I need to do on the laptop, I just create a Todoist task.

Also, I like to think I am one of these people who say they don’t care what an application looks like as long as it works, but that…

--

--

Tansy Bradshaw

Tansy is a neurodivergent writer living and working in Melbourne. Over her decade of writing they have written reviews, opinion pieces and feature articles.